Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2016 for study in the UK (Fully Funded)

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships support candidates to study Master’s degree courses that are either offered in partnership with universities in developing countries, or delivered directly by UK institutions.

The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is one of the largest and most prestigious scholarship schemes for international study in the world. Since it was established in 1959, around 30,000 individuals have benefited – 25,000 of them have held awards funded by the UK government, managed by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom (CSC).


To apply for these scholarships, you must:

  • Be a citizen of a developing Commonwealth country, refugee, or British protected person
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases

Scholarship Worth:

  • All expressions of interest must meet the CSC’s overall funding cap of £18,000 per scholarship. This figure must cover all elements of the award, including tuition fees, applicable partnership development costs, and a UK residential programme.
  • If the actual costs of delivering the course are higher than £18,000, the university must clearly identify the source of top-up funding in its expression of interest, and any subsequent proposal.
  • Funding is available for five years from the start of an approved programme.

You can apply for a 2016 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship for the following Master’s courses

Cardiff University

Bangor University
Open University
Queen Mary, University of London
Royal Veterinary College
SOAS, University of London

  • MSc Public Financial Management (available to citizens of Malawi and Tanzania only)

UCL Institute of Education

University of Birmingham
University of Edinburgh
University of Leicester
University of Liverpool
University of Oxford
University of Southampton
University of Stirling
University of Strathclyde

  • MSc Finance (available to applicants from Kenya, Malawi, and Tanzania only)
  • MSc Hydrogeology (available to applicants from Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe only)

University of St Andrews
University of York


The application cycle for Distance Learning Scholarships has three stages:

1. The CSC invites expressions of interest from UK universities for Distance Learning Scholarships (August-September).

2. The CSC invites formal proposals from shortlisted universities, deciding which courses to select and how many scholarships to allocate to each course (November-January).

3. The CSC selects candidates for Distance Learning Scholarships from a shortlist of candidates nominated by each university following its own recruitment process (February-

July) Expressions of interest and proposals from universities and applications from candidates must be made using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). Information on how to use the EAS, including detailed guides, is available at

For More Information:
Visit the Official Webpage of the Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2016 

Application Deadline: 23:59 (BST) on 3 May 2016.

Newsletter Updates

Enter your email address below to subscribe to our newsletter

Search For Jobs Offer And Vacancies In Nigeria